Governor primaries, 61st House, County Commission are races to watch

Governor primaries, 61st House, County Commission are races to watch

The Aug. 2 ballot, which is available July 13 through July 28 for Early Voting, includes tightly contested primary elections for Republican governor nominee and a six-way race for the GOP candidate for state House District 61.

In the Democratic primary, the races to watch are the contest between former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean and House Minority Leader Craig Fitzhugh. Two Democrats also are seeking the nomination for U.S. House District 7: film producer Justin Kanew and Green Beret Matt Reel.

There are no other contested races on the Democratic primary ballot.

The Republican primary has six contenders, including perennial candidate Basil Marceaux, Sr., and Kay White, who ran for Congress in 1995 and 1997 and organized the Tri-Cities Tea Party.

The four frontrunners are U.S. Rep. Diane Black, entrepreneur Randy Boyd, House Speaker Beth Harwell, and Businessman Bill Lee.

The other high-interest Republican contest is the primary race for House District 61, to replace the retiring longtime incumbent Rep. Charles Sargent.

That race includes Gino Bulso, Rebecca Ann Burke, Jeff Ford, Robert Hullett, Brandon Ogles and Terrence Smith.

Rebecca Purington, a Democrat, will face the winner of that contest in November.

Rep. Glen Casada is unopposed in the primary for District 63, and Rep. Sam Whitson in unopposed in District 65. Both have Democratic opponents for the General Election.

The County general election features competition in most of the County Commission districts, but no opposition for County Mayor, County Trustee, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, Juvenile Court Clerk, County Clerk or Register of Deeds.

The Williamson County Democratic Party aimed to recruit candidates for County Commission, and was largely successful.

The candidate profiles for the contested districts are below:

County Commission District 1

County Commission District 2 race

County Commission District 4 race

County Commission District 5 race

County Commission District 6 race

County Commission District 7 race

County Commission District 8 race

County Commission District 10 race

County Commission District 11 race


About The Author

Brooke Wanser is the associate editor for the Franklin Home Page, and can be reached at Follow her on Twitter at @BWanser_writes or @FranklinHomepg.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *