Trio of 2018 WillCo football standouts honored as finalists for Mr. Football

Trio of 2018 WillCo football standouts honored as finalists for Mr. Football

Photo (top left to right): Sheffield, Henderson, Harris-Lusk 


Three standout football players from the area walked away with hardware for their 2018 performances Sunday night at the TSSAA’s Mr. Football ceremony at Nissan Stadium.

A crowd of more than 400 football players, coaches, families, friends and press convened at the NFL complex to recognize the three finalists in each state classification, with one being elevated to Mr. Football status.

Titans announcer Mike Keith and Independence High school vice principal and former Titans great Kevin Dyson were on hand to deliver the awards to the football players being honored.

“This is such an outstanding honor for all 30 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA, about the event.

“They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”

The Williamson County area saw three athletes, Independence’s T.J. Sheffield, CPA’s Noah Henderson and Fairview’s Kam Harris-Lusk. None of the young men were eventual winners, but each received a plaque for their finalist status.

“It’s an honor; not many people get to get this opportunity,” Sheffield, a Purdue commit, said about being recognized. “I feel like my team, and my coaches, and the staff helped to get me where I am. A great way to end my senior year.”

Sheffield represented the three finalists for 6A, where Cane Ridge standout Devon Starling eventually was named Mr. Football. Harris-Lusk was part of the 3A group (eventual winner, Walker Russell, Alcoa) and Henderson was in the D-II Class AA group (where Lausanne star and four-star recruit Eric Gray won his third Mr. Football honor).

“I’m definitely very, very honored to be in the position that I’m in,” Henderson said of the night. “Obviously, I wouldn’t be here without my coaches, without the players, without the teammates I have…nothing happens without everyone working together. So I’m just very blessed to be on such a great team.”

Page’s Michael Burdick (5A), FRA’s Tymon Mitchell (D-II AA) and CPA’s Kane Patterson (D-II AA) were recognized by name during the ceremony by Keith for being semifinalists for Mr. Football.

Below is a list of the full slate of winners from each class, courtesy of the TSSAA.

Division I, Class 1A

Bryce Hanley, Greenback

Division I, Class 2A

Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Division I, Class 3A

Walker Russell, Alcoa

Division I, Class 4A

Cade Ballard, Greeneville

Division I, Class 5A

Deshawn Page, Fulton

Division I, Class 6A

Devon Starling, Cane Ridge

Division II, Class A

Stone Norton, Davidson Academy

Division II, Class AA

Eric Gray, Lausanne

Division II, Class AAA

Maurice Hampton, MUS


Garrett Taylor, Oakland

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *