Three local students graduate from Columbia State veterinary technology program

Three local students graduate from Columbia State veterinary technology program

ABOVE: Sitting, from left are Joslyn Kerigan, Anngela Miller, Eva Beathard, Katlin Willis, Suzanne McMullan, Emily Burcham, Kayla Paschall and Jordan Hansel. Standing, from left are Bailey Gilliam, Grace Bledsoe, Natalie Walton, Shelbie Cheek, Winter Hansen, Izora Smith, Mary Kathryn Briley and Anna Neal. // SUBMITTED


Columbia State Community College honored 17 veterinary technology program graduates in a pinning ceremony April 27, including three from Williamson County.

The local graduates are:

Mary Kathryn Briley of Franklin (37067)

Jordan Hansel of Thompson’s Station (37179)

Anngela Miller of Arrington (37014)

“Columbia State’s vet tech program maintains rigorous standards for technician education and veterinary care,” said Dr. Kae Fleming, dean of the Health Sciences Division and professor of radiologic technology. “Veterinary facilities across the region provide clinical experiences for students and are quick to employ graduates. The vet tech program offers students a unique opportunity to combine passion and vocation for exciting and rewarding careers.”

A veterinary technician primarily functions as professional technical support to veterinarians, biomedical researchers and other scientists. Qualified veterinary technicians are responsible for clinical pathology, radiology, surgical assisting, office and hospital management and other related duties.

“I am proud of the Columbia State vet tech program students,” said Dr. Madonna Higgins, Columbia State program director and assistant professor of veterinary technology. “The graduates have a lot to offer the veterinary community, and I’m excited for them to enter the workforce.”

Columbia State has one of only five vet tech programs in the state of Tennessee. This program is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association and offers students the opportunity to become a veterinary technician and receive an Associate of Applied Science degree. For additional information, visit

Columbia State Community College is a two-year college serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with five campuses, including Columbia, Williamson, Lawrence, Lewisburg and Clifton. Columbia State was established in 1966 as Tennessee’s first community college.
The Tennessee Board of Regents is the governing board for The College System of Tennessee: the state’s 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving nearly 100,000 students.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *