Williamson County has its highest midterm turnout in more than two decades

Williamson County has its highest midterm turnout in more than two decades


Williamson County had its highest voter turnout for a midterm election in more than two decades.

Nearly 68 percent of voters cast a ballot in the 2018 midterm election. That kind of turnout is more like a presidential election. About 72 percent of voters participated in the November 2016 presidential election.

The Tennessee Secretary of State has records of voter turnout in Williamson County back to 1994. The 2018 midterms had the highest voter turnout in the county since at least 1994.

About 73 percent of Williamson County voters cast their ballots early for the 2018 election.

Some precincts had especially high turnout this year. The Fire and Rescue Station 24 precinct in Franklin had more than 74 percent of registered voters participate. More than 700 people voted there on Tuesday.

Williamson County candidates for statewide offices did slightly better in their home counties compared with the rest of the state.

Republican businessman Bill Lee won the gubernatorial race with about 60 percent of the vote statewide, but he earned 65 percent of the votes in Williamson County. Lee won every precinct in his home county.

Williamson County Congressman Marsha Blackburn won the race for the U.S. Senate with about 55 percent of the statewide vote. She received about 59 percent of the votes in Williamson County. She won all but two precincts in Williamson County.

Most areas of the county voted solidly Republican. Perhaps the most Democratic area of the county is District 10, which covers the northern part of Franklin.

One precinct in District 10 (Liberty Elementary) voted Phil Bredesen for U.S. Senate, Justin Kanew for U.S. House and was almost evenly split on the gubernatorial race between Lee and former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean.

Still, Republican Representative Sam Whitson, whose district includes northern Franklin, easily won his race for the Tennessee House of Representatives.

Democrats only earned more votes in a handful of precincts. Two precincts in Franklin (Liberty Elementary and Robert Ring Soccer Complex) voted for Democrat Phil Bredesen. One precinct in Franklin voted for Justin Kanew.

Democrat Bill Peach earned four more votes than Republican majority leader Glen Casada at the Burwood Community Center. Peach received 16 votes from that precinct and Casada received 12.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *